NYS Standards for Art

  • NYS Standards for Art

    All learning in the Art room follows the Discipline Based Art Education (D.B.A.E) model where students participate in Art Production, Art History, Art Criticism, and Aesthetics.  The New York State Learning Standards are implemented in each Art activity and lesson.

    The NYS Standards for the Visual Arts:

    Standard 1: Creating, Performing and Participating in the Arts

    Standard 2: Knowing and Using Art Materials and Resources

    Standard 3: Responding to and Analyzing Works of Art

    Standard 4: Understanding the Cultural Dimensions and Contributions of the Arts

    The National Standards for Visual Art:

    1.) Understanding and applying media, techniques, and processes.

    2.) Using knowledge of structures and functions.

    3.) Choosing and evaluating a range of subject matter, symbols, and ideas.

    4.) Understanding the visual arts in relation to history and cultures.

    5.) Reflecting upon and assessing the characteristics and merits of their work and the works of others.

    6.) Making connections between visual arts and other disciplines.